Virtual Regional Conference on Decriminalisation of Petty Offences in Africa

Virtual Regional Conference on Decriminalisation of Petty Offences in Africa – Events

The regional campaign on decriminalisation of petty offences in Africa will be holding a virtual regional conference in September 2020. The overall objective of the Conference is to provide a continental platform for a broad-based discussion and review of measures adopted to contain public emergencies and crisis, such as the novel coronavirus (COVID-19); analyse policing policies and practices adopted in response to such emergencies; and determine whether there are any linkages between these measures, their enforcement and the rights and welfare of those experiencing social marginality and other forms of social-economic disadvantage. Additionally, the Conference aims to identify regional best efforts and practices – on responding to pandemics – that are right-based in nature and promote the targeted mainstreaming of such efforts into other existing commitments to address public emergencies.

The Conference will be held over three consecutive days on 14th, 15th and 16th of September 2020, as separate sessions from 11h00 GMT (13h00 SAST, 14h00 EAT)

For further information, or to register interest in attending, please contact helene@apcof.org.za

Find the concept note here